Skip to main content
Start main content

Two PolyU scholars win Leader of the Year Award 2019_804x385

Congratulations! Two PolyU scholars have recently won a Sing Tao News Corporation Limited Leader of the Year Award 2019 in the Education/Professions/Technology and Innovation category. They are Prof. Yung Kai-leung, Chair Professor and Associate Head of our Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and Dr Wu Bo, Associate Professor in our Department of Land Surveying and Geo-informatics.

The award would have positive effect on attracting talents to aerospace research.

Prof. Yung Kai-leung

Chair Professor and Associate Head, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

They are honoured for their outstanding achievements in assisting with Chang’e-4, China’s lunar exploration programme. Over the years, Dr Wu Bo’s team have been working hard developing a lunar topographic mapping and geomorphological analysis technique for finding the best location for the spacecraft’s landing on the far side of the Moon. At the same time, Prof. Yung’s team, in collaboration with the China Academy of Space Technology, have developed the Camera Pointing System which enabled Chang’e-4 to send back stunning panoramic images of the lunar landing and rover deployment – the world’s first-ever glimpses of this uncharted region.

China’s Chang’e-4 lunar probe performed the very first soft landing on the far side of the Moon on 3 January 2019. This historic event, the Nation’s second lunar landing and a milestone in its pioneering lunar exploration programme, was greatly aided by interdisciplinary effort from researchers at PolyU. PolyU is the only university in Hong Kong that has contributed to the Chang’e-4 space mission. Click here for the detailed story.

Prof. Yung said the award would have a positive effect in attracting talents to aerospace research. Both scholars encouraged young people with an interest in scientific research to explore the universe, thus potentially helping to reveal not only the secrets of the origins of humanity but also the earth’s future.

The Leader of the Year Award has been organized by Sing Tao News Corporation Limited every year since 1994. The awards pay homage to distinguished individuals who make an exceptional contribution to Hong Kong and who serve as role models for the next generation. Distinguished Leaders of the Year in five categories (Commerce & Industry/Finance; Community/Public Affairs/Environment & Conservation; Education/Professions/Technology & Innovation; Sports/Culture/Performing Arts; Young Entrepreneur) were honoured this year, which marks the 26th anniversary of the Award.

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here